Subscribe Today

SACRAMENTO (June 26) — When U.S. 10,000 meter record holder Shalane Flanagan was an abrupt non-starter in the women’s 10,000m final on the second day of the USA Track & Field Outdoor Championships in Sacramento, it opened a doorway for hometown favorite Kim Conley (New Balance/Sacramento Running Association). The 2012 Olympian (at 5,000m), who resides in West Sacramento, Calif. and graduated from nearby University of California - Davis, thrilled the Hornet Stadium crowd with a superbly planned race to win her first U.S. outdoor title.

SACRAMENTO, Calif. — 2012 Olympic silver medalist Will Claye captured his first outdoor triple jump title Friday at the USATF Outdoor Championships, celebrating with family and friends in the stands after his final attempt.

Unique Venue Showcases Shot Put Competition - SACRAMENTO (June 25) — Five days of compelling competition kicked off at the 2014 USA Track & Field Outdoor Championships in Sacramento, Calif. with the Capitol Shot Put at a unique event venue on the west lawn in front of the state’s Capitol Building. An estimated 5,000 fans filled two grandstands on the perimeter of the shot put area, getting an up-close and personal view of the competitors. The shot put ring was set up on a slightly elevated concrete platform constructed so throws would be legal on the Capitol lawn’s uphill slant.

SACRAMENTO -- For the first time in USA Track & Field history, two female throwers sent the javelin more than 200 feet, and a distance runner put a sixth national title in the record books at the USATF Outdoor Championships.

SACRAMENTO, Calif. -- Michelle Carter (Ovilla, Texas) and Joe Kovacs (Nazareth, Pennsylvania) kicked off the 2014 USATF Outdoor Championships in style Wednesday, capturing the women’s and men’s shot put titles in front of 5,500 fans at the California State Capitol in downtown Sacramento.