Subscribe Today
Friday, 30 May 2014 18:26

40th Nike Prefontaine Classic promises to be a showstopper

Written by USATF
Rate this item
(0 votes)

EUGENE, Ore. -- The 40th Nike Prefontaine Classic boasts an impressive field in 24 events, with over 50 U.S. athletes slated to compete at historic Hayward Field, May 30-31 will air Friday evening’s events live beginning at 11:15 p.m. ET. NBC Sports Network will air Saturday’s events from 3:30-4:30 p.m. ET before NBC picks up the telecast from 4:30-6 p.m. ET.
17 of the weekend’s events comprise the Diamond League meeting in Eugene, while additional events feature two sections of the USATF High Performance women’s 800 meters, as well as the international men’s 800 meters and the wildly popular men’s 10,000 meters, in which Olympic silver medalist Galen Rupp looks to challenge his own U.S. record of 26:48.00 in the 10,000m.
Men’s shot put closes Friday’s field events and should do so in style, as 2013 world indoor champion, Ryan Whiting, goes up against Germany’s two-time world champion, two-time Olympic champion Tomasz Majewski of Poland, 2007 world champion Reese Hoffa and 2008 Olympic champion and 2009 world champion Christian Cantwell.

{UNIVERSAL}The women’s 200 meters looks to be a thriller, as a stacked list of U.S. athletes competing includes Olympic champion and three-time world champion Allyson Felix, 2013 world championships finalist Charonda Williams, Olympian Jeneba Tarmoh, 2013 U.S. 200m champion Kimberlyn Duncan and 2013 U.S. 100m champion English Gardner.
Battling the five Americans is two-time Olympic champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce of Jamaica, who recently earned a bronze finish as the anchor leg in the 4x200m relay at the IAAF World Relays.
The men’s 400 meters should be equally exciting, with a thrilling head-to-head battle between 2013 world champion and 2008 Olympic champion, LaShawn Merritt, who recently anchored Team USA to a gold medal at the IAAF World Relays, and Kirani James, the 2012 Olympic champion.
Merritt, a five-time victor at the Pre Classic, currently reigns as the world’s fastest quartermiler this season, throwing down 44.14 at the IAAF Ponce Grand Prix just a few weeks ago. Joining Merritt in the one-lap race is 4x400m teammate and 2013 world silver medalist Tony McQuay, as well as Bahamian legend Chris Brown.
The women’s 1,500 meters is already being touted as the best field in the history of the Nike Prefontaine Classic, with reigning USATF Athlete of the Week Brenda Martinez on the entry list, as well as world silver medalist Jenny Simpson and four-time U.S. champion Treniere Moser.
Abeba Aregawi, Sweden’s world indoor and outdoor champion who was undefeated at the distance in 2013, is also at the front of the pack in the women’s 1,500m race, as well as Kenya’s Faith Kipyegon, Olympic champion Nancy Langat, Hellen Obiri and Eunice Sum leading the way.
The men’s 110-meter hurdles features a showdown between 2013 world champion David Oliver, Olympic champion Aries Merritt and 2013 world silver medalist Ryan Wilson and 2011 world champion Jason Richardson. Oliver owns the third-fastest time in the world this year (13.23), turning in his season’s best at Drake Relays and tying the time en route to the Doha Diamond League title.
Another intriguing entry is Olympic decathlon champion and world record holder indoors and outdoors in the combined events, Ashton Eaton. The reigning world champion in the indoor heptathlon and outdoor decathlon, Eaton is no stranger to TrackTown USA, having donned the green and yellow as a multi-time NCAA Champion at the University of Oregon and breaking the world record in the decathlon at Hayward Field during the 2012 U.S. Olympic Trials.
The men’s 800 meters is one of the final races of day two at Hayward, with Olympian Duane Solomon looking to attack Johnny Gray’s American record of 1:42.60. Solomon turned in the fastest time in the world this year, winning at Mt. SAC in 1:43.88.
Follow along live with USATF on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram with the hashtag #PreClassic. A full recap will be available on daily following the meet’s conclusion.
The third stop on the summer-long Diamond League tour, the Nike Prefontaine Classic kicks off the first of two domestic Diamond League competitions.
The Nike Prefontaine Classic is part of the USATF Championship Series. The final stop of the summer is the USATF Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Tickets are available at

Friday, May 30, 2014
7:00 p.m. 10:00 p.m. Discus Women Gia Lewis-Smallwood
7:03 p.m. 10:03 p.m. Long Jump Women Brittney Reese, Janay DeLoach Soukup, Tori Bowie
7:30 p.m. 10:30 p.m. 800m Women USATF HP Sec I Will be posted when available
7:30 p.m. 10:30 p.m. Men’s 800 International Will be posted when available
7:50 p.m. 10:50 p.m. 800m Women USATF HP Sec II Will be posted when available
8:10 p.m. 11:10 p.m. Shot Put Men Ryan Whiting, Reese Hoffa,
Christian Cantwell, Joe Kovacs
9:17 p.m. 12:17 a.m. 10,000m Men Galen Rupp, Aaron Braun
Saturday, May 31, 2014
12:22 p.m. 3:22 p.m. Triple Jump Men Will be posted when available
12:25 p.m. 3:25 p.m. Pole Vault Men Brad Walker
12:30 p.m. 3:30 p.m. International Mile Men Will be posted when available
12:42 p.m. 3:42 p.m. 2-Mile Women Shannon Rowbury, Jordan Hasay, Chelsea Reilly, Laura Thweatt, Brie Felnagle,
Heather Kampf (pacer)
12:59 p.m. 3:59 p.m. High Jump Women Brigetta Barrett, Chaunte Lowe
1:03 p.m. 4:03 p.m. 400m Hurdles Women Will be posted when available
1:11 p.m. 4:11 p.m. 3000m Steeplechase Women Emma Coburn, Ashley Higginson, Jamie Cheever, Bridget Franek, Aisha Praught (pacer), Lauren Johnson (pacer)
1:25 p.m. 4:25 p.m. 400m Men LaShawn Merritt, Tony McQuay
1:34 p.m. 4:34 p.m. 100m Men Justin Gatlin, Michael Rodgers
1:38 p.m. 4:38 p.m. Javelin Throw Men n/a
1:42 p.m. 4:42 p.m. 400m Women Will be posted when available
1:49 p.m. 4:49 p.m. 1500m Women Jenny Simpson, Treniere Moser, Brenda Martinez, Elise Cranny, Lea Wallace
2:05 p.m. 5:05 p.m. 110m Hurdles Men David Oliver, Ryan Wilson, Jason Richardson,
Aries Merritt, Ashton Eaton
2:13 p.m. 5:13 p.m. 200m Women Allyson Felix, Charonda Williams, Jeneba Tarmoh, Kimberlyn Duncan, English Gardner
2:20 p.m. 5:20 p.m. 5000m Men Bernard Lagat, Ben True, Ryan Hill, Chris Derrick, Hassan Mead
2:41 p.m. 5:41 p.m. 800m Men Duane Solomon, Brandon Johnson
2:49 p.m. 5:49 p.m. Bowerman Mile Will Leer, Matt Centrowitz


Read 815 times