Subscribe Today
Monday, 02 February 2015 01:57

Kim Collins' Posts Amazing 6.48, Licwinko 201 NR

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

MOSCOW (RUS, Feb 1): There were three world leads out of 13 events at 24th edition of Russian Winter (IAAF Permit) meeting at Moscow CSKA arena. Ever young Kim Collins clocked 6.48 WL and national record (and World best for 35+ category) to win men 60 m final ahead American Mike Rodgers 6.56 and Cuban Yunier Pérez 6.61 (both with season bests). In men’s 1500m Kenyan battle on the last lap identified the winner. Vincent Kibet sprinted past Bethwel Birgen to clock WL and PB 3:37.79. Birgen lost only by 0.02. 

Daegu world medallist Silas Kiplagat finished third with 3:38.28 followed by Collins Cheboi 3:38.44 and Russian Valentin Smirnov 3:38.74. Kamila Licwinko from Poland won in duel between two reigning world indoor champions with 201 NR and WL in first attempt. After successful jump at 197, she missed 199 and finally tried 203. Russian Mariya Kuchina went over 199 season best for second and 40-year-old Venelina Veneva-Mateeva was third with 190 what is World masters 40+ best. 22-yer-old Russian Dmitriy Semyonov improved his PB by 1cm with 231 in men’s event. European U23 medallist 2013 Daniyil Tsyplakov showed the same result but lost in countback. Konstadínos Baniótis and Aleksey Dmitrik who cleared 228 followed them. Triple jump world indoor champion Yekaterina Koneva won women long jump 682 PB in third round (681, 666 and 645 in series). 20-year-old Yelena Mashinistova set PB 6.40 for second place. Greek Loúis Tsátoumas was the only one to overcome 8m in men field with 805 SB over Russian Pavel Shalin 794. Reigning 400m hurdles world champion Zuzana Hejnova from Czech Republic returned on the track but finished 4th over 400m with 53.83 behind Russian Yekaterina Renzhina 52.08 WL and Alena Mamina 52.39 (both PBs) and her compatriot Denisa Rosolova 52.64. Czech Pavel Maslák had clear win in men event with meet record and European lead 45.80 ahead of Pavel Trenikhin 47.23. Qatari Abdulrahman Musaeb Bala clocked 1:15.99 over 600m. 800m London Olympic medallist Yekateribna Poistogova won women 800m with 2:02.11 ahead of Renelle Lamote from France 2:02.52 and Russian Anastasiya Bazdyreva (2:02.63 PB). World leader Alina Talay of Belarus finished first in 60 m hurdles with 8.04. Ukrainian Hanna Plotitsyna clocked 8.10 PB for second place. In men’s event Cuban Dayron Robles won in very close finish over Russian Konstantin Shabanov. Both clocked 7.69. Czech Petr Svoboda (7.75) became third. Ukrainian Olesya Povkh was fastest over 60m 7.27 ahead of young Russian Kristina Sivkova 7.37. During short break between two 45-minute session 800m Athens Olympic champion Yuriy Borzakovskiy has retired from athletics officially.  IAAF President Lamine Diack has sent special greetings.

Read 2573 times